Telling details

05Apr10

I finally have all the pieces together to finish my grad announcements. I think my total was about three hours in Illustrator/InDesign, $6 on stickers, $8 on envelopes, and $40 for printing, plus a buck or two for gas around Pullman.

Grand total, without postage? About $55.

The basic Josten’s package, which WSU shamelessly hawks? $107.

I told y’all I was a bargain-shopper-looker-outter. Plus, now my family can have my own special brand of tacky clipart to hang on their fridge!

Anyway, the point of this post, sorta, is that I know I’m probably making way too big a deal out of graduation/commencement.

But it’s seriously the best thing that has ever happened to me (well, maybe except being born with this bra size ………… JOKING), that I’ve ever done for myself, to come to college and finish strong, despite all the odds. I didn’t grow up in some horrible prostitution-and-drug-filled den of sin, but the odds for me to go to college were slim. It’s a long story, but I just barely got here.

I’m incredibly excited for my family to come visit. Nicki and Carlos are coming from Vacaville. Mom and Janie, too. Maybe some chitlins, maybe some cowboys. In a family with scores of drama and even more adorable children, little pissy Rikki doesn’t get a whole lot of attention. Graduation day is mine, effers.

Now to my point …

I have my final list of who to send announcements. The grand tally?

People in Washington state: 4
People in the South (mostly TN/AL): 8
People in California: 9

This might affect my job hunt.



5 Responses to “Telling details”

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I bought invitations from the school, but there so ugly and expensive that I can’t stand the thought of mailing them to people I actually like.

    And my invite list is pretty much immediate family.

    Who else do you tell?

    • I meant “they’re” not “there.” I’ve got to work on proof-reading skills now.

  2. Good for you. I still haven’t sent out my announcements. Is this bad?

    = )

    Now I can say Briana Jae Alzola graduated AND is working at a newspaper.
    Win. Haha.

  3. 4 Amanda DePaul

    I WANT ONE.

  4. 5 Rikki King

    GIVE ME YOUR ADDRESS :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers