Music Monday, and some bitterness

22Nov10

So maybe I go a little overboard with this band, but they’re pretty much the only indie-ish thing I listen to.

I’ve been listening to this song a lot. It sort of perfectly describes a situation I’ve found myself in more times than I care to admit.

I’m working Thanksgiving and Christmas but not (so far) New Year’s, so I’m hoping to find some sort of bash. The last few New Year’s were kind of duds. In 2008, I sat on Tony’s kitchen counter and ignored everyone at the party so I could drink a bottle of champagne to myself, then fell asleep before midnight. Last year, I got bored at a ex’s family’s party and there wasn’t even champagne. So I distinctly remember announcing (loudly, in front of the old religious people) “F it. It’s midnight in Nashville,” and opening a bottle of peach fuzzy shit.

The New Year’s before that was an absolute blast, a group of my favorite friends all met up in Cheney and had a crazy time. The year before, I was with family in California. And the year before that, I stayed up coloring with my little nephew and we banged pots and pans.

Anyway, this song is good! Better than my bitterness. And I’m looking forward to celebrating New Years, kiss or not.

Previously in Casiotone for the Painfully Alone: NYT trend pieces, Music Monday #18 and Ridiculously long band names sometimes make up for it.



One Response to “Music Monday, and some bitterness”

  1. Aw! I have to work the holidays, too. I hope you have an amazing New Year’s!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers